What does a dietitian eat? (Part 1 of 4)

You may be thinking that since registered dietitians (& dietetic interns!) study nutrition, they also eat healthy 100% of the time. Or you may be realistic and know that can’t be the case! Just like I’m sure not all dentists floss each day, and not all nurses are non-smokers…right?

At a recent get-together, 3 other dietetic interns and I jokingly designed our own versions of the MyPyramid, based off of the foods we eat most often.  It was all in jest and we had a good laugh, but I thought I’d share them because I think it makes an important point. None of us have to eat “healthy” 100% of the time.  Any food can fit into a healthy diet.  It’s my strong belief that there are no “bad foods” just bad dietary patterns.  So if you fret over eating a cupcake or are nervous about the calories in 1/2 cup of turkey gravy for Thanksgiving…or still feeling guilty over eating all the leftover Halloween candy, relax. Nobody is perfect, and you can eat and drink anything you like. Just remember portion size, balance, and make it a priority to stay active with 60 minutes of physical activity per day.

So without further ado, here is the 1st pyramid in the “What does a dietitian eat?” series:

Categories: What does an RD eat? | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “What does a dietitian eat? (Part 1 of 4)

  1. Good advice. My mom was a dietitian. We ate well, but she certainly was reasonable about our balanced diets (back before the food pyramid, when there were four food groups). I keep telling her she needs to write a wacko extreme book to make money cause no one buys sane diet books.

  2. Debbie Todhunter

    I think that this pyramid of the four belongs to you. Am I right? Great work, all of you! What a creative idea to share.

    • Yes, good eye, good eye….was it the ice cream or hummus that gave it away? And notice I have indeed changed the “red pepper” food group to “pizza” food group, because as Roanna so kindly mentioned to me, my pyramid was looking a little too healthy. And I also realized I eat my red peppers ON homemade pizza. So this new one makes more sense 🙂 Always striving to be accurate!

Leave a Reply...What Do You Think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

