Tis the Season for Pumpkin Rolls

My favorite fall food item that I love around the holidays is pumpkin. Even if I don’t eat it, I just like seeing jack-o-lanterns around Halloween and festive pumpkin centerpieces around Thanksgiving.  Pumpkin pie, pumpkin soup, and pumpkin rolls are great as well.

Today I decided to try my hand at making a pumpkin roll. I had made one before during my junior year of college but that was quite a while ago.  The recipe list is pretty basic so the only ingredients I had to plan ahead for and buy were cream cheese and canned pumpkin.

I used the recipe on the back of the “Libby’s Pumpkin” can label. I actually really like using the recipes that come on the back of boxes and canned items, because I figure that company has a chef who has tried out dozens of recipes to find the exact one that they know is good, and that they know the average person can make. Any recipe that has made it onto a package has been thoroughly tested and is worth trying!

Cake:

  • Powdered sugar
  • 3/4 cup AP flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2/3 cup pumpkin (NOT pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts (optional…and I chose to forgo this option)

Filling:

  • 1 pkg (8 oz) cream cheese, softened
  • 1 cup sifted powdered sugar (I didn’t sift it…)
  • 6 Tbsp butter or margarine, softened
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • powdered sugar (for sprinkling on top of roll when finished, optional)

Spreading the batter on waxed paper (remember to grease both sides of the paper!)…Mine was 12.5 minutes at 375*F

Shake some powdered sugar on a clean, thin, cotton dish towel. You’ll use this to roll up the sheet cake with.

Flip the baked cake over onto the powdered-sugar-towel. Peel off the wax paper. Roll up in towel, and let cool.

When cooled, unroll and spread with the cream cheese filling. Roll back up, wrap with saran wrap, and stick it in the fridge. Mmmm…looks pretty good right now.

My finished product! Well, this is basically what mine will look like once it sets in the refrigerator. See now, isn’t that easy?

Detailed instructions can be found here. So please don’t be afraid of the pumpkin roll. Really, it’s super quick to make. Add cake ingredients in bowl, bake for 12-15 minutes, mix filling ingredients together…really it’s a quick and simple recipe that fits in with the season and is more impressive than your average muffins or quickbread.

Categories: Recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Tis the Season for Pumpkin Rolls

  1. Debbie Todhunter

    Oh, Emily, I wish you were here to make this for our family dinner! Maybe at Christmas? This dessert looks so good, I may have to try it myself. We love you!

Leave a Reply...What Do You Think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

